Sealed Air’s Misti Nehus Honored at Women In Manufacturing STEP Ahead Award Ceremony

Apr 24, 2017 11:05 AM ET

Misti Nehus, Sealed Air’s North American Environmental Health & Safety (EHS) Manager, has been selected as a recipient of the Women in Manufacturing STEP (Science, Technology, Engineering and Production) Ahead Awards given by The Manufacturing Institute, an arm of the National Association of Manufacturers, a U.S.-based business advocacy organization. The STEP Ahead Awards honor women at all manufacturing levels who have demonstrated leadership and excellence in their careers.

Misti began her career with Sealed Air Corporation in 2014 as a North America EHS Manager. She currently supports the Food Care Division in North America and is responsible for supporting, coaching, and developing site EHS professionals in these facilities. In addition to her current role, Misti also serves on Sealed Air’s Women’s Initiative Network steering committee. Prior to beginning her career with Sealed Air Corporation, Misti obtained the Certified Safety Professional certification and has since obtained the Certified Hazardous Materials Manager certification and a Six Sigma Black Belt certification. Misti is currently working toward her Master of Business Administration in Leadership at Southern New Hampshire University.

The STEP Ahead Awards are part of the larger STEP Ahead initiative, launched to examine and promote the role of women in the manufacturing industry through recognition, research, and leadership for attracting, advancing, and retaining strong female talent. Honorees were nominated by their peers, company officials, or professional-service firms. Over 500 nominations were submitted, with 130 honorees chosen from more than 100 companies, representing all levels of manufacturing and exemplifying diversity in manufacturing careers.

“These women are the faces of exciting careers in manufacturing,” said Jennifer McNelly, Executive Director, The Manufacturing Institute. “We chose to honor these women because they each made significant achievements in manufacturing through positive impact on their company and the industry as a whole.”

Honors were conferred on April 20 at a reception in Washington, D.C.

Read more via