Stephen McCaffrey, Trailblazer in International Water Law, Wins 2017 Stockholm Water Prize

Mar 23, 2017 8:05 AM ET
Multimedia with summary

Bacardi congratulates Professor Stephen McCaffrey for winning the 2017 Stockholm Water Prize Laureate for his unparalleled contribution to the evolution and progressive realization of international water law. Read the full news release here.

With a strong conviction to drive sustainability and protection of water, Bacardi proudly wears the title of a founding member of the Stockholm Water Prize. This global award is presented annually by the Stockholm International Water Institute (SIWI) to an individual, organization or institution for outstanding water-related achievements.

Understanding that partnerships could lead to better results, since 1995 Bacardi has been collaborating with the Stockholm Water Foundation to help advance the Foundation’s efforts to educate and empower people to improve water quality in their communities.  As part of this partnership, a professorship was established to help strengthen the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s (MIT) research and teaching in the field of water resources. 

Click here to learn more about Bacardi's Sustainability Initiatives. 

About SIWI:
Founded in 1991, the Stockholm International Water Institute (SIWI) provides and promotes water wise solutions for sustainable development in the areas of water governance, transboundary water management, and through international policy processes. 

We also bring together experts, practitioners and decision-makers from a range of sectors and countries during our annual World Water Week in Stockholm to network, exchange ideas and foster new thinking around the most pressing water-related challenges of today. To help recognize outstanding water achievements and encourage interest in water and sustainability issues, SIWI also hosts the world’s most respected award for water achievement, the Stockholm Water Prize, as well as the Stockholm Junior Water Prize and the Stockholm Industry Water Award. Learn more here.